putting in freon - AcuraZine Community
AcuraZine Acura Forums Home Acura CL Forums Acura ILX Forums Acura MDX Forums Acura NSX Forums Acura RDX ForumsAcura RL ForumsAcura RSX ForumsAcura TL ForumsAcura TSX ForumsAcuraZine ZDX DiscussionAcuraZine Regional DiscussionAcuraZine Off Topic Discussion

Go Back   AcuraZine Community > AcuraZine CL Community > First Generation CL Discussion
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums FAQ Members Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark All Read ExperienceUsed CarsVendorsGarage
Search
Welcome to AcuraZine Community

Notices

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-23-2004, 9:31 PM   #1
Leon
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hollywood, FL
Posts: 703
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
putting in freon

I finally got my new relay for my AC compressor and want to install some freon. when installing freon, the lil cans that you can buy from discount auto parts, do you hold the can upright or upside down when putting it in using the right connector? and how many cans should be enough?
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Acurazine!
__________________
Pics of my car!

http://photos.yahoo.com/acura99black
Leon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2004, 9:44 PM   #2
LCARUCA 97
Trailblazer = SUCK
Garage is empty, add now
 
LCARUCA 97's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Quad Cities IL.
Posts: 1,013
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Take it to an AC shop and have them do it. If you still have refrigerant in your system, you run the chance of overcharging it which will cause higher than optimal pressures, and you run the chance of blowing seals. Like I said, have a shop recover all the old refrigerant, and weigh the new charge into it. If your car uses R-134A you're looking at a $100 job TOPS. also...if you have a working system, you don't need more oil. Too much oil is bad. Think of your car's engine. It's meant to run on about 4 quarts. If all of the sudden you dump an additional 4 quarts in, your engine won't be happy.
LCARUCA 97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2004, 9:48 PM   #3
Leon
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hollywood, FL
Posts: 703
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Threadstarter
theres no refrigerant in it cause I changed one of the AC lines that got bent during the swap, so right now theres nothing refrigerant in it at all.
Leon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2004, 10:47 PM   #4
Chinisimo
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Chinisimo's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 35
Posts: 8,156
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i don't think it would matter either way since the gas is being held under pressure. when the pressure is release, the gas will go out.
Chinisimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2004, 10:50 PM   #5
acura2.3
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Enfield. CT
Age: 32
Posts: 181
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
From what i understand, you need to create a vacum so the freon and the oil in the bottle come out. When you turn the bottle upside down all the oil will come out and not the freon. But i could be wrong.
acura2.3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2004, 12:32 AM   #6
ding069
acura-cl.com OG
Garage is empty, add now
 
ding069's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rhode Is Land?
Posts: 5,244
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Points: 12,834, Level: 73
Points: 12,834, Level: 73 Points: 12,834, Level: 73 Points: 12,834, Level: 73
Activity: 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
I run an HVAC business so let me clarify this. Old systems can be topped off with refrig, and this can be measured correctly by using pressure gauges. If you are removing refrig from a system, you are supposed to reclaim all the old into a cylindar and have it recycled. You do this by using a reclaiming pump. After the old is removed, you use a vacum pump to remove anything left behind in the lines which prohibits contamination. A scale that weighs the charge is the best most accurate way to recharge a system, but the most expensive.
ding069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2004, 12:39 AM   #7
Stapler
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Stapler's Avatar
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tucson Az
Age: 30
Posts: 1,839
Thanks: 16
Thanked 40 Times in 25 Posts
Points: 9,705, Level: 66
Points: 9,705, Level: 66 Points: 9,705, Level: 66 Points: 9,705, Level: 66
Activity: 3.3%
Activity: 3.3% Activity: 3.3% Activity: 3.3%
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leon
theres no refrigerant in it cause I changed one of the AC lines that got bent during the swap, so right now theres nothing refrigerant in it at all.
Did you seal off the system when this happend, the dryer is verry sensitive to moisture and can be ruined verry easily
Stapler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2004, 7:31 AM   #8
gaonkar
Registered Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Champaign
Age: 35
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I would suggest that you get the freon filled by a car shop. They have good tools to do that plus they can vaccume the whole unit for some time (say 10 minutes) that would remove all the moisture and stuff. Plus they could also tell you if your system holds vaccum or not. It cost about $125 for the recharge in some shops I guess.

shravan
gaonkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2004, 7:31 AM
AcuraZine
Acura Integra




Paid Advertisement


 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2001, ac, acura, add, adding, auto, car, connector, freon, install, mdx, putting, refrigerant, tl, tsx

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Acurazine.com content, comments, or advertising. Acurazine.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Acurazine.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Passwords Backup